Every year the local constituency Labour Party elects ‘officers’ to carry out the organisational and campaigning priorities of the party. There are eight key posts that must be filled – chair, deputy chair, secretary, treasurer, vice-chair (membership) and vice-chair (policy), women’s officer and youth officer – and at least four of these must be women. The women’s officer must be a woman.

All of these office holders are automatically members of the Executive and Campaign Committee (ECC) of the constituency and form a core team that helps the party work effectively. These officers should work together to create an annual development plan for the constituency which encourages recruitment, campaigning, fund-raising, policy development and election work and that ensures the party is a dynamic and campaigning force in the community. The executive is jointly responsible for encouraging central constituency activity such as the production of newsletters, new members’ meetings, local policy forums, fund-raising events, education training events, doorstep voter ID, street stalls, school gates campaigning and working with supporters and community groups.  The officers also play a key role in liaising with the party branches and their officers.

Stevenage CLP Officers (2018-2019)

Executive Officers Name
Chair David Wood
Vice Chair Richard Henry
Vice Chair – Membership Jill Borcherds
Secretary Abbie Clark
Treasurer Jeannette Thomas
Women’s Officer (and Chair of Women’s Forum) Michelle Gardner
Functional Officers
Youth Officer Lizzy Kelly
Election Agent David Wood
Campaign Co-Ordinator Chris Webb
Fundraising Officer 1 Lorraine Clark
Fundraising Officer 2 Cris Clark
IT Officer Eddie Hornby
Social Media Officer Arielle Bennett-Lovell
Political Education Officer Ric Euteneuer
BAME Officer Michelle Gardner
TULO Tim Broughton
Disability Officer Georgie Whiting
Delegate from TSSU Sarah Jane Potter

Branch Labour Parties

The Labour Party is divided into branches, usually based on the ward boundaries for councillors. Branches discuss political issues; plan local campaigning activities; send motions to the CLP meetings; nominate officers for the CLP; select local council candidates and participate in the nomination and reselection of labour MP’s.

Local branches bring the Labour Party to your community in Stevenage. Branch members are involved in residents’ associations, youth clubs, sports clubs, trade unions and other bodies. Much of the time at branch meetings is taken up with discussing local problems and national politics. The branch keeps the CLP representatives informed about local issues and the views of the members about national issues.

Each branch:-

  • is involved in distributing literature on behalf of the Party and sometimes publishes its own newsletter
  • can collect donations to  the Party
  • invites Labour Councillors, trade unionists and other public representatives to their meetings to keep in touch with their work. Branches usually meet once a month.

At election times, the branch plays a vital role. It uses all its resources to work for the election of Labour Representatives. During campaigns, and sometimes between them, members contribute by e.g. canvassing, leafleting, maintaining canvassing and other records and issuing statements and leaflets in support of the Party and its candidates.

The CLP currently consists of 6 branches each of which has a chairperson, secretary, vice chair, treasurer and each branch nominates 2 delegates to the CLP.

The branches and their secretaries are:-

Old Town/Symonds Green/Woodfield
Secretary Loraine Rossati
Stevenage North East
Martins Wood, St Nicholas, Chells, Manor
Secretary David Wood
Bedwell/Pin Green
Secretary Chris Webb
Stevenage South
Roebuck, Bandley Hill, Shephall, Longmeadow
Secretary Adrian Brown
Knebworth and Codicote
Secretary Duncan Corps
Aston and Datchworth
Secretary Anna Carrick

Labour East

The CLP is in the Party’s Eastern Region. There is a Labour Party regional office (Labour East) in Harlow with a Regional Director. There is also a Regional Board, elected at the Regional Conference attended by delegates from the CLPs in the Region. At present, the chair of the Regional Board is Vaughan West, a member of the Royston branch.

The area covered by the regional office co-incides with the Government’s eastern planning and development region and with the European parliamentary constituency. The Eastern Region website is at


Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search